Trunk User GuideTrunk User Guide Media GalleryHow do I make a "private" media, "public"?

How do I make a "private" media, "public"?

When a student uploads media to either the Site Library or to a Collection, the media is, by default, designated as "private".  That is, no one except the instructor and the individual student can view the media (except in the case of a "Community managed" Collection.

If the Student uploads media to the Site Library both the student and the instructor can make the media "public" (everyone with an account on the site can view the media).

If the Student uploads media to a "Personal managed" Collection both the student and the instructor can make the media "public" (everyone with an account on the site can view the media). (See: "How do I allow students to upload media to a Collection as part of an Assignment?")

If the Student uploads media to a "Community managed" Collection, all users can view the media (even if it is marked "private") and all users can make the media "public". (See: "How do I allow students to upload media to a Collection collaboration space (group media space)?")

To make "private" media "pubic" (viewable by all) click on Details, at the bottom of the thumbnail.

To make "private" media "pubic" (viewable by all) click on Details, at the bottom of the thumbnail.

This displays the metadata dialog box.

Checkmark "public", then click Save

Checkmark "public", then click Save

This returns the display to the Site Library or Collection with the media made public (viewable by all).

Example:

Example: