Trunk User GuideTrunk User Guide Media GalleryHow do I allow students to upload media to a Collection collaboration space (group media space)?

How do I allow students to upload media to a Collection collaboration space (group media space)?

By default, students cannot upload media to the Media Gallery. Instructors may want to allow students to upload media to a Collection as part of a group collaboration space.

To allow students to upload media to a Collection as part of a collaboration space, click on Media Gallery in the left tool panel.

To allow students to upload media to a Collection as part of a collaboration space, click on Media Gallery in the left tool panel.

This displays the Media Gallery tool home page.

At the top of the Media Gallery tool, click on Permissions.

At the top of the Media Gallery tool, click on Permissions.

This displays the Media Gallery tool permissions dialog box.

In the "Student" and "Student Non-Registered" column, checkmark "Allow user to upload content", then click Save.

This returns the display to the Media Gallery page.

Students now have an "Upload New Media" button for the Site Library and for any Collection that has been set up to allow students to upload to the collection. Students also now have a My Media tab.

Click on the Collections tab, then Add Collection.

Click on the Collections tab, then Add Collection.

This displays the Add Collection dialog box.

Enter the Name and Description of the Collection.

Enter the Name and Description of the Collection.

Select Community as the Collection Management type, then click Save.

Select Community as the Collection Management type, then click Save.

Selecting the Community Collection Management will:

  • Allow all site members (with uploading permission) to upload media to the collection
  • All site members can see the media items in the Collection even if they are marked "private"
  • The student that uploaded the media (and the instructor) can allow all site members make the media public or private, edit metadata (name, tags, description).
  • All site members can remove any other site member's media from the Collection.

This Collection management is preferred if instructor allows students to upload media to a Collection and the Collection will be managed by students (for instance, a group media collection).

After clicking "Save" the display is returned to the Collection space with the new Collection selected. Once a media item is added to a Collection, the Collection is displayed within a bounding box.

Example of student uploaded media in a Collection collaboration space:

Example of student uploaded media in a Collection collaboration space:

NOTE; When a student uploads media to a collection that the instructor has set up as a shared collaborative space, the video is by default "Private" but nevertheless can be seen by all of the site participants (because they have editing permission on the shared collection.

It is a good idea (for clarity) to make the media "public" if uploaded to a shared Collection collaboration space.